Please join us on May 29th at 7 pm at the Masonic Lodge (225 W. Oak St.)
for a free showing of “The Greenest Building” documentary.
Historic Loomis Addition
In 1887, Abner Loomis added the very first new subdivision to the town of Fort Collins and called it the Loomis Addition – an area bounded by Laporte, Washington, Mulberry and Whitcomb. Today the Addition contains 309 houses, most built before 1925, making them some of the oldest houses in Fort Collins.
The predominant architecture is one-story bungalows with peaked roofs, wide overhangs, and deep front porches. This charming neighborhood is also a place of carriage houses, chicken coops, vegetable gardens, and mature landscaping. It’s a bike, pedestrian, and dog friendly neighborhood.
For over 130 years, the Loomis neighborhood has been home to local business owners, school teachers, young couples in their first homes, professionals, families, retirees, and college students. Our residents enjoy a special sense of place and community where folks borrow tools, help each other with snow shoveling, and greet strangers on the sidewalk with a smile. We enjoy summer block parties, talking over the fence, and a long history of goodwill and harmony with our neighbors.
A group of Loomis Addition neighbors who love the architectural charm of the neighborhood are now exploring the establishment of a local historic district to help maintain and preserve the character of our special place. As our historic homes are bulldozed and replaced, one house at a time, we see the integrity and character of our neighborhood being eroded.
PLEASE JOIN US to protect the charm and character of this special neighborhood.
Historic preservation and building reuse is a sustainable means of supporting our local economy, culture, and environment. Read more about the connection between building reuse and environmental benefits in A Historic Distric Will Help Fort Collins Reach Climate Action Plan Goals.